And so it begins…

Okay, technically it began last Christmas when I made my maniacally obsessed parents figurines of their beloved dogs.  These dogs have replaced my brother and I as the most important things in their lives.  And they don’t even try to hide it anymore.

“Stephanie, that’s Darcy’s chair.  If you don’t want her clawing at your face, you should find somewhere else to sit.”

“Stephanie, I can’t talk right now.  I’m busy cooking the dogs’ dinner.”

“Stephanie, I don’t care how much you say you need two, Buddy needs a kidney and you are giving him yours.”

Okay, the last one is both scientifically implausible and entirely fictional, but you get the idea.

So they loved the tiny little Christmas figurines of their corgis and I thought to myself “Hey, if my insane parents love their custom figures, I bet there are other equally ridiculous people who love their dogs more than life itself and would enjoy having a small replica in festive holiday attire.”

Thus an idea was born.  Clear my Etsy shop of absurdly labor intensive felt animal cards and offer custom pet figurines.

But I needed some examples.  Pictures.  No one is going to buy an hand-crafted replica of Rex or Fluffy or Princess without some concrete evidence that I can do their pup justice.

So I present my current project:  Woody

crop-woody-photo

He starts as a fairly expressionless, vaguely dog-shaped entity…

levelsIMG_3650

Then slowly becomes a better representation of a dog (and starts looking much less like a mutant harbor seal)…

levelsIMG_3651

Then he gets dressed in his holiday outfit.  Call him “CAPTAIN WOODY” from here on out.  He’s a super hero for Halloween…

LevelsIMG_3660

LevelsIMG_3661

Then he has to rest for a little while because my hands are as hot as the sun, apparently.

When he cools down a little so that the slightest touch doesn’t cover him with fingerprints, he will get shaped into a much more accurate Woody.  Plus, all of the textures like fabric and fur will be added.

So stay tuned to see what happens with this pink little canine super hero.

Tags: , , , , ,

4 Responses to “And so it begins…”

  1. Ailis Says:

    Very nice, my friend. Very nice. Just wanted to let you know that if you EVER need another dog as a model for sculpting… A beautiful example of k9osity at its best, I think I could spare a picture or two of my beloved Katie dog.

  2. poppicakes Says:

    Will do! I am looking for dog models! Send me some pictures and maybe a few ideas for outfits/props/etc?

  3. Ailis Says:

    Yay! ok! She was a big fatty fat fat! And soooo cute!

  4. poppicakes Says:

    Fatty fat. I prefer that. Easier to sculpt.

Leave a Reply

