Cushy tushy.

My new chair, while repainted, recovered, and beautiful, is not the most comfortable.  It’s not uncomfortable, but if I plan on sitting on it for hours, my large butt is going to require some more coosh.  Yes, it does provide it’s own layer of squishiness, but that isn’t the point.

Inspired by this crocheted loveliness over at Attic24, I decided to granny “square” my buns a new soft spot.

IMG_3137

The pattern is pretty basic.  It starts off with the beginnings of this pattern, but instead of going into the square part (adding in the ch2 corners), I just kept going in a circle.  To increase (which I did whenever it seemed like it needed it), I just sort of winged it.  For one round, instead of only doing 3dc ch1, I would do [4dc ch1] in each ch1 space.  Then the next round, I would do 2dc in the ch1 sp, sk 2 dc, then 2dc in the space between the dc.  So basically, 2dc’s in the very middle of the 4dcs from the previous round (it really isn’t as complicated as I make it sound, look at the picture).  Ch1 in between each group of 2dcs.  Then you go back to doing the typical granny clusters of 3dc ch1.

IMG_3134(1)

Hmm.  I hope all of that makes sense.  If it doesn’t comment and I will try my best to explain. Also, I’m sure any variation on the idea would yield similar if not better results.

I still have to do one more round, and then I’ll take pictures of what it looks like on the actual chair.  I am debating if I want to just leave it as is, or make 2 and actually stuff it with something.  I guess my butt will ultimately have to be the final judge.

And I encourage you to let your butt be the same.

Leave a Reply

